Hide Sora notification

Try Sora - the student reading app, by OverDrive

Apple App Store
Google Play Store
  Main Nav
This Is Where the World Ends
Cover of This Is Where the World Ends
This Is Where the World Ends
Borrow Borrow
A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.Janie and...
A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.Janie and...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Listen
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.

    Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That's how it's been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It's the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.

    Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie's disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.

About the Author-

  • Amy Zhang was born in China, grew up in Wisconsin, and currently lives in New York State.

Reviews-

  • AudioFile Magazine Michael Crouch opens the story in an "After" section in which hospitalized 18-year-old Micah Carter recovers from "an accident" he doesn't remember. Crouch wistfully expresses Micah's longing for and lyrical memories of Janie Vivian, his best friend since childhood. In contrast, Micah's abrupt, shocked answers to police express his puzzlement about what has happened. Justis Bolding delivers Janie Vivian's "Before" section, which is composed of journal entries. In contrast to Crouch's subdued tones, Bolding's narration brims with passion, sassiness, and, later, fury for a terrible hurt she keeps hidden. Her emotional highs and lows make sense for the pain she feels and inflicts on Micah. The alternating first-person narratives give excellent perspectives of both protagonists, and their contrasts give dimension to both characters and their powerful secret relationship. S.W. © AudioFile 2016, Portland, Maine
  • Publisher's Weekly

    December 14, 2015
    Eighteen-year-old Micah Carter cannot remember what happened on the night his “soul mate” Janie’s house burned down. Though Micah is questioned by therapists, police officers, and his friend Dewey, his memory is disjointed, a problem exacerbated by frequent drinking. As he sifts through recollections of Janie, Micah realizes that despite their secret friendship and mutual desire, Janie, an artist obsessed with dream boyfriend Ander, is a stranger. Zhang (Falling into Place) switches between Janie’s thoughts before the fire and Micah’s after, bridging the two with unsettling fractured fairy tales from Janie’s senior English project that highlight her change after being assaulted. While Zhang’s subject and tone recall books like Paper Towns and Thirteen Reasons Why, the symbolic aspects of the text (Janie’s fascinations with Virginia Woolf and metaphors, for example) turn repetitive and blunt the emotional underpinnings of the novel. The mystery of the fire propels readers forward, yet Micah’s final lesson learned—“Just be a better friend, you idiot”—comes across as glib, and his relationship with Dewey underdeveloped. Ages 14–up. Agent: Emily Keyes, Fuse Literary.

  • Kirkus

    December 15, 2015
    A twisty, stylized examination of a catastrophic relationship. Eighteen-year-old Janie Vivian believed in fairy tales and metaphors and true love. Her best friend, Micah, believed that he loved Janie. Despite her crazy ideas and unrelenting mind games, he believed he loved Janie "apocalyptically." Little did he know that the end of their world was right around the corner. The story of the two friends' sometimes beautiful and oft-dysfunctional relationship is slowly revealed through an interesting combination of Micah's present-day accounts, Janie's flashbacks, and her occasional journal entries. Though it is Micah who wakes up in a hospital room unable to explain to police how he got there or what happened to Janie, the novel, just like Micah's world, revolves mostly around her, and she is a force. Watching Janie toy with Micah's heart while executing a plan to make another classmate fall hopelessly in love with her is cringeworthy and at times difficult to bear. When Janie's plans take an unexpected and horrible turn, it becomes equally difficult to watch her unravel and to drag an unsuspecting Micah down with her. Zhang weaves a dark, complicated tale, steeped in obsession, painful secrets, and mind-numbing vodka. Readers will be left to decide for themselves whether this is a tragic love story or a psychological thriller; regardless, this is most definitely a novel that will have fans talking. (Fiction. 14 & up)

    COPYRIGHT(2015) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • School Library Journal

    January 1, 2016

    Gr 9 Up-Edgy, taut, and compelling, this is a story of unrequited love, betrayal, and apocalyptic changes using lyrical language wrought with symbolism. Janie and Micah have been next-door neighbors and nighttime ninjas since childhood. Micah has long loved Janie from (not-so) afar while Janie remains elusive. Despite her steely exterior and manipulative ways, Janie loves Micah as much as he loves her, but she toys with him nonetheless. Similarities to John Green's Paper Towns (Dutton, 2008) end here. Micah wakes up at the hospital after a night of binge drinking; he vaguely recalls a fire, but details are missing. Where is Janie? Why are the police questioning him? Events unfold through the alternating voices of Janie and Micah in nonlinear fashion until Janie's past and Micah's present collide. Ultimately, this narrative choice creates suspense and works, yet initially it may confuse readers. Zhang tackles heavy subjects such as rape and suicide directly, realistically, and in a way that speaks to teens. Micah's quick acceptance after learning the tragic facts presents perhaps the novel's only real flaw. This abruptly tidy ending does not keep with the lugubrious tone. Both Micah and Janie are well-drawn, complex, and sympathetic. Janie explains her connection with Micah, "We had already drawn lines on our soul and stabbed little flags on it"; language such as this sets this novel apart. VERDICT The breadth of topics covered, figurative language employed, page-turning suspense, and spot-on delivery render this novel a must-have for high school libraries.-Laura Falli, McNeil High School, Austin, TX

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    HarperCollins
  • OverDrive Listen
    Release date:
  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
    Burn to CD: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to device: 
    Permitted
    Transfer to Apple® device: 
    Permitted
    Public performance: 
    Not permitted
    File-sharing: 
    Not permitted
    Peer-to-peer usage: 
    Not permitted
    All copies of this title, including those transferred to portable devices and other media, must be deleted/destroyed at the end of the lending period.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
This Is Where the World Ends
This Is Where the World Ends
Amy Zhang
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
This Is Where the World Ends
This Is Where the World Ends
Amy Zhang
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close